OSF Saint Elizabeth Medical Center - Ottawa

Awards & Recognition

OSF HealthCare Saint Elizabeth Medical Center has been recognized for providing exceptional patient care.

“Providing safe, high-quality care has always been our focus and we thank our dedicated Mission Partners who work together as a coordinated team to deliver exceptional care and serving our communities with the greatest care and love.” - Dawn Trompeter, president of OSF Saint Elizabeth

Recent awards and accreditations are detailed below. To read more about awards and recognition, please click here.

Awards & Accreditations

Award Organization Date
Performance Leadership Award The Chartis Center for Rural Health November 2023
Education Recognition for OSF Medical Group - Primary Care in Ottawa & Streator American Diabetes Association July 2023
Everest Award - Top 25 Rural Hospitals in the Nation Fortune/Merative August 2022
2022 Fortune/Merative 100 Top Hospitals® list Fortune/Merative July 2022
"A" Grade for Safety The Leapfrog Group Spring 2022
2022 Top 100 Rural & Community Hospital The Chartis Center for Rural Health 2022
Accreditation Organization
Joint Commission Accredited Hospital The Joint Commission
Computed Tomography (CT) Imaging American College of Radiology
Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) American College of Radiology
Mammography & 3D Mammography American College of Radiology
Nuclear Medicine American College of Radiology
Ultrasound American College of Radiology

About the Organizations

American College of Radiology (ACR)

The ACR, founded in 1924, is a professional medical society dedicated to serving patients and society by empowering radiology professionals to advance the practice, science and professions of radiological care. The College serves more than 37,000 diagnostic/interventional radiologists, radiation oncologists, nuclear medicine physicians, and medical physicists with programs focusing on the practice of medical imaging and radiation oncology and the delivery of comprehensive health care services.

The ACR gold seal of accreditation represents the highest level of image quality and patient safety. It is only awarded to facilities meeting ACR Practice Parameters and Technical Standards after a peer-review evaluation by board-certified physicians and medical physicists who are experts in the field. Image quality, personnel qualifications, adequacy of facility equipment, quality control procedures and quality assurance programs are assessed. The findings are reported to the ACR Committee on Accreditation, which subsequently provides the practice with a comprehensive report that can be used for continuous practice improvement.

Visit Website

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

Hospitals report data to CMS through the Hospital Inpatient Quality Reporting (IQR) and Hospital Outpatient Quality Reporting (OQR) programs. This data is inputted into the Star Rating Program, a five-star quality rating system created by CMS, that measures the experiences Medicare beneficiaries have with their health plan and health care system.

Hospitals are evaluated for their performance in the areas of patient experience, timeliness and effectiveness of care, complications & deaths, unplanned hospital visits, use of medical imaging, and payment and value of care. The overall hospital rating ranges from 1 to 5 stars, with 5 being the highest. The most common overall hospital rating is 3 stars.

Visit Website
The Chartis Center for Rural Health

There is no better illustration of the value that rural facilities provide to their communities than the annual identification and recognition of the top-performing rural facilities. Each year, the rural hospitals are analyzed through the lens of the Chartis Rural Hospital Performance INDEX, the industry’s most comprehensive and objective assessment of rural hospital performance in the United States. 

Amidst uncertainty, transition and strain, these top performers are excelling in managing risk, achieving higher quality, securing better outcomes, increasing patient satisfaction, and operating at a lower cost than their peers. These groups serve as a benchmark for other rural facilities as they strive to achieve similar results and provide a blueprint for successfully navigating the uncertainty of the new healthcare.

For more information or questions please reach out to CCRH@chartis.com.

The Joint Commission

Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States.

An independent, nonprofit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Pioneers in Quality™ recognition is not an indicator or measure of data quality or quality of care, but an indicator of an organization’s commitment to adopting eCQMs toward quality improvement. It recognizes eCQM data reporting and other contributions that advance eCQM adoption in health care.

Visit Website
The Leapfrog Group

Developed under the guidance of a national expert panel, the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses 28 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign grades to more than 2,600 U.S. acute-care hospitals twice per year.

The Hospital Safety Grade’s methodology is peer-reviewed and fully transparent, and the results are free to the public.

Visit Website
View More In This Section